Job Posting

Bavarian Academy of Sciences and Humanities

The Bavarian Academy of Sciences and Humanities seeks applications for a

full-time scientific post

(salary grade E13) working in the research group Geodesy and Glaciology (http://geo.badw.de). Initial appointment will be for 2 years, with the option of renewal.

Located in Munich, the Bavarian Academy of Sciences and Humanities (BAdW) is one of Germany's oldest research organisations, and operates the Leibniz Rechenzentrum (LRZ) as one of the most advanced HPC centers worldwide. Within the Academy, the research group on Geodesy and Glaciology works on geodetic and glaciology research related to the role of Alpine mountain glaciers and their role in the Earth system. The project also performs long-term monitoring of mountain glaciers and their interaction with Earth system components, such as the solid Earth, hydrosphere and climate. A research focus is the development of sophisticated HPC simulation tools that will enable physics-based modelling of glacial dynamics and glacial interaction with other spheres of the Earth system. In recent years, ELMER-ICE has been used as a basis for the model development on the HPC system of the LRZ.

We are looking for a researcher with strong expertise in the development and use of modern ice-dynamic computer models. It is expected that the candidate is able to implement the complex dynamic processes within glaciers and their interaction with other geospheres in a model architecture. This requires knowledge of scaling methods and coupling schemes. Familiarity with advanced parallel HPC techniques and data assimilation methods is expected and additional experience with meteorological/climatological processes and data handling would be beneficial. To this end, computationally intensive model runs can be performed on HPC systems of the LRZ (e.g. Linux Clusters), and a close co-operation with LRZ staff is foreseen.

You have

  • a PhD in geophysics, meteorology, informatics/mathematics, physics or in related disciplines of glaciology
  • strong expertise in the physics of glaciers and you are experienced in the use of HPC enabled software
  • familiarity with glacial modelling software (e.g., ELMER-ICE, or other Full-Stokes solvers) and you are able to lead and implement new model developments
  • excellent knowledge of computer languages such as C, C++ or Fortran
  • a keen interest to collaborate with LRZ staff to efficiently apply advanced computing resources of the LRZ
  • the physical fitness and experience to join field campaigns in summer and winter related to our glacial monitoring programs
  • a strong publication record and a keen interest to collaborate with other members of Geodesy and Glaciology group, as well as the willingness to raise own financial project support

The BAdW is an equal opportunity employer and encourages applications from female candidates. Disabled candidates with essentially equal qualifications will be given preference in accordance to the rules and regulations of German law SGB IX. The post is conditionally suitable for candidates with disabilities. Part-time work is possible, as long as job sharing allows to fulfil the duties of the full time post.

If you are interested in this post, please send your detailed application (exclusively by Email as a single PDF document) until March 1, 2021 to office-keg@badw.de. You may address questions to the same Email-address or call Dr. Voelksen (+49 89 23031 1272).

Station

Research

Data

Service

Infobox
Zeile 1
Zeile 2

Zeile 3 Zeile 4
Zeile 5

Stellenausschreibung

Bayerische Akademie der Wissenschaften

Die Bayerische Akademie der Wissenschaften sucht

eine wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin / einen wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeiter in Vollzeit

zum nächstmöglichen Zeitpunkt für das Projekt Erdmessung und Glaziologie (http://geo.badw.de/)

Die Vergütung erfolgt nach E13 TV-L. Die Stelle ist zunächst auf zwei Jahre befristet mit der Option auf Verlängerung.

Die Bayerische Akademie der Wissenschaften ist eine der ältesten aktiven Forschungseinrichtungen Deutschlands mit Sitz in München und betreibt mit dem Leibniz-Rechenzentrum (LRZ) eines der fortschrittlichsten Zentren für wissenschaftliches Höchstleistungsrechnen (HPC) weltweit. An der Akademie bearbeitet das Projekt Erdmessung und Glaziologie Fragestellungen der Glaziologie und Geodäsie u.a. zum Thema Alpine Gletscher und ihre Rolle im Erdsystem mit dem Ziel der Langzeitbeobachtung alpiner Gletscher und ihrer Wechselwirkung mit der Umwelt (Geosphäre, Hydrologie, Klima). Dabei bildet die Entwicklung eines HPC-fähigen, physikalisch fundierten, möglichst wirklichkeitsnahen numerischen Modells der glaziologischen Prozesse und ihrer Kopplung mit geophysikalischen Randbedingungen einen der Eckpfeiler des Forschungsprogramms. In den letzten Jahren wurden dazu Modellentwicklungen auf der Basis von ELMER-ICE vorangetrieben.

Ihr Aufgabengebiet umfasst die (Weiter-)Entwicklung und Anwendung eines HPC-fähigen numerischen Eisdynamikmodells. Ziel dabei ist es, die eisdynamischen Prozesse in die Umweltwechselwirkung der hochalpinen Gebirge einzubetten. Dies erfordert die hochflexible Anpassung des Modells an weite Skalenbereiche in Raum und Zeit und die Entwicklung innovativer Datenassimilationsmethoden. Daher sind Erfahrungen mit meteorologisch/klimatologischen Prozessen und Datenverarbeitung von Vorteil. Die rechenintensive numerische Modellierung kann auf den HPC-Systemen (z.B. Linux Cluster) des LRZ durchgeführt werden, daher ist eine enge Kooperation mit dem LRZ beabsichtigt. Zusätzlich erwarten wir die Bereitschaft, sich in die Routinearbeiten der Dauerbeobachtungen einzubringen.

Wir erwarten:

  • ein mit überdurchschnittlichem Erfolg abgeschlossenes Universitätsstudium und eine Promotion in den Fächern Geophysik, Informatik/Mathematik, Meteorologie, Physik oder in benachbarten Studiengängen der Glaziologie
  • fundierte Kenntnisse der Gletscherphysik und Erfahrungen mit HPC-fähiger Software 
  • sehr gute Fachkenntnisse in bestehenden Modellierungsprogrammen (z.B. ELMER-ICE oder anderen Full-Stokes-Lösern) und die Fähigkeit eigenständige Neuentwicklungen voranzutreiben
  • gute Kenntnisse einer Programmiersprache wie C, C++ oder FORTRAN
  • aktive Zusammenarbeit mit dem Leibniz-Rechenzentrum in Garching
  • Mitarbeit an den laufenden Arbeiten der Gruppe, insbesondere wird die Teilnahme und Durchführung von Feldarbeiten auf Gletschern im Rahmen des bestehenden Beobachtungsprogramms erwartet (erfordert körperliche Fitness und Erfahrungen im hochalpinen Gelände im Sommer und im Winter)
  • aktive Publikationstätigkeit und Bereitschaft zur Kooperation in Forschungsprojekten und eigenständigem Einwerben von Drittmitteln

Die Akademie fördert aktiv die Gleichstellung von Frauen und Männern. Bewerbungen behinderter Menschen werden im Rahmen der Regelungen des SGB IX bei gleicher Eignung vorrangig berücksichtigt. Stelle und Arbeitsplatz sind für Schwerbehinderte bedingt geeignet. Die Stelle ist teilzeitfähig, sofern durch Job-Sharing die ganztägige Wahrnehmung der Aufgabe gesichert ist.

Bei Interesse senden Sie Ihre aussagekräftigen Bewerbungsunterlagen (bitte ausschließlich per E-Mail als ein zusammenhängendes PDF-Dokument) bis 1. März 2021 an office-keg@badw.de. Rückfragen werden an dieselbe E-Mail Adresse erbeten, oder telefonisch an Herrn Dr. Völksen (089-23031-1272).